2008

I’ve got a lot to look forward to in the coming year. I’m graduating from college; I’ll officially have my B.A. in English this May. Then I’ll be getting my first apartment- I have plans to move in with a friend of mine; we’re going to try and get a place together near White Plains. I’ll start full time at Pace in the fall. I’m already taking classes there part-time, thanks to Manhattanville’s joint program (The goal, in case you don’t know, is an M.S. in publishing).

This coming year will also see two of my traveling goals come to fruition. In May, as a graduation present to myself, I’m going for a 15-day trip to Europe. I’ve never been overseas (or, actually, out of the country other then a short stint in Canada that I don’t think should count, and a cruise) and I’ve wanted to go visit Europe in the worst way (I’ll post more on the trip later). I also have plans to go visit the Grand Canyon with my family during a 2-week road trip end of August. I’ve always wanted to watch the sun rise over the Grand Canyon, and I’ve never been out west. I haven’t traveled much in my life.

During spring break, in March, my mother and I have plans to go to North Carolina. Not that that trip is a major goal, but my mother’s family all lives there and I haven’t seen them since I graduated from high-school 3-years ago.

I have a couple of ‘resolutions,’  or really goals, for the new year too. I want to pitch a magazine article and get it published. I’ve never written for or been publishing in a magazine before, although Poetry.com has taken several of my poems, Life and With the Fire Flies. Both won editor’s choice awards…. although I’m not sure how prestigious or rare those awards are; they can’t be too hard to get if I’ve submitted two poems and gotten the award both times.  But thats besides the point; the point is that I’d like to try and get some clips and start freelancing. I think, ideally, I’d like to be full-time with a book publisher and work part-time as a freelancer writing on writing and publishing. I’d love to write for Writer’s Digest or Publisher’s Weekly.

Doing all the things I want to do in 2008 isn’t going to be easy; I also need to find a ‘real job’ in the big open world. I’ve been working on my resume, and plan to rewrite my cover letter in the next couple days. I have about two dozen part-time jobs and internships that I want to apply for. I’d like to work 3 days a week this semester. I planned my school schedule so that I could. I only have class on Tuesdays and Thursdays. If none of the jobs pan out I’ll pick up a couple more classes.

I wish all of you the best of luck with your own resolutions, and I’ll post updates on mine. See you again in 2008!

Explore posts in the same categories: Personal

One Comment on “2008”


  1. Melissa,

    Happy New Year! Thanks so much for your nice holiday card. Your blog is terrific and it sounds like you have a great year ahead. I look forward to reading more.

    If you would like to write a guest post on a career topic for my blog, please let me know. I’d love to give you a byline.

    Keep up the great work!
    Lindsey
    http://lindseypollak.blogspot.com


Leave a Reply

