B2B Publishing

As I finish my first month working for a business to business magazine, I have some reflections to share.

First, for anyone who doesn’t know a business to business magazine is a magazine on the industry (in this case the pet industry) for other professionals. Pet Business is a magazine that is written for mom & pop pet stores – small independently owned stores. Our advertisers are manufacturers who sell products to the stores, so that the stores can sell them to the consumer. So the majority of our editorial falls into two categories: how to sell that merchandise to the consumer more effectively, and how to choose manufacturers more effectively.

As my first job in publishing, I expected to suddenly be overwhelmed with how much I didn’t know. That actually hasn’t happened too much. Most of the things I’ve found I know a reasonable amount about, and the things I don’t generally can be excused because they involve knowing the company well and knowing what we, specifically, do – which I will learn as I work here for extended periods of time.

Overall, things have gone fairly well. My first article will be published in the August issue (shipping end of July) and my first feature should go into the Grooming Supplement that is being included with the September issue. I’m looking forward to my first trade shows (Pet Fashion week in NYC end of August and Las Vegas in September).

After the September issue comes out I am going to start working on freelancing again. I have several ideas, and articles I was working on during the school year, and I need to start actively freelancing. So expect posts on that in the near future as I begin writing query emails.

Explore posts in the same categories: Becoming Professional, Personal, publishing

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

